Post Processing using Paraview

aspects of evaluating simulation results and their graphic presentation using either DisplayMICRESS or other software tools. Features and possibilities of DisplayMICRESS
Post Reply
CharMIC
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:01 pm
anti_bot: 333

Post Processing using Paraview

Post by CharMIC » Mon Mar 19, 2018 6:12 pm

Hi,

I am trying to do some post processing using paraview. I converted .mrc files to vtk(ascii) using DPMICRESS.

But when I open them in Paraview, and do the necessary steps as in the post processing manual I only see one solid color. I do not see the segregation of elements. I have selected the coloring option to the data set.

When I try to re scale to visible data range, nothing happens.

What could be the reason here.

deepumaj1
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 12:00 pm
anti_bot: 333
Contact:

Re: Post Processing using Paraview

Post by deepumaj1 » Mon Mar 19, 2018 6:24 pm

Hi Chamara,
In the Coloring option of Paraview, sometimes, by default, the 'Solid Color' option will be active. Change this to the field that you want to view (say 'conc1'). Then it should work.

Deepu
Attachments
paraview_options.png
paraview_options.png (33.91 KiB) Viewed 1405 times

CharMIC
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:01 pm
anti_bot: 333

Re: Post Processing using Paraview

Post by CharMIC » Mon Mar 19, 2018 6:57 pm

Hej Deepu,

I did it. But it gives the colour associated to NaN.

But when I check the .vtk file it has correct values.

BR
Chamara

ralph
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 4:42 pm
anti_bot: 333

Re: Post Processing using Paraview

Post by ralph » Tue Mar 20, 2018 12:33 pm

Hej Chamara,

are there any error message from the Paraview file reader?
Hard to say what is going wrong here. Can you attach the file or send it to support?
I tested Paraview 5.4.1 and DP_MICRESS VTK ascii output a minute ago. It works like a charm.

Ralph

CharMIC
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:01 pm
anti_bot: 333

Re: Post Processing using Paraview

Post by CharMIC » Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:22 pm

Hej Ralph,

I cannot attach it says file format is not support. I will email you.

BR
Chamara

ralph
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 4:42 pm
anti_bot: 333

Re: Post Processing using Paraview

Post by ralph » Tue Mar 20, 2018 3:14 pm

Can you try to change the slicing pane to XZ ?
Seems that Paraview 5.5 takes XY per default, now. Former versions just evaluate dimensions as given in the VTK and present the 2D plane as defined.

Ralph

ralph
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 4:42 pm
anti_bot: 333

Re: Post Processing using Paraview

Post by ralph » Tue Mar 20, 2018 3:40 pm

Ah sorry!
I should have tried it with the same version before giving advice.
It works as expected at my site (win 64 bit, Paraview 5.5.0).

Maybe an OpenGL problem?
Can you try an installation on another machine?

Ralph

CharMIC
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:01 pm
anti_bot: 333

Re: Post Processing using Paraview

Post by CharMIC » Wed Mar 21, 2018 11:36 am

Hej Ralph,

Could you put up a screen shot of the paraview with the results

ralph
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 4:42 pm
anti_bot: 333

Re: Post Processing using Paraview

Post by ralph » Wed Mar 21, 2018 12:17 pm

It shows up from startup after applying the default settings.
Ralph
para_conc3.PNG
para_conc3.PNG (351.69 KiB) Viewed 1376 times

CharMIC
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:01 pm
anti_bot: 333

Re: Post Processing using Paraview

Post by CharMIC » Thu Mar 22, 2018 9:29 am

Hej Ralph,

You were correct. It was OpenGL problem.

Worked on a different workstation level computer.

BR
Chamara

Post Reply